Mike's >>>

Raja Petra Kamarudin + Anwar Ibrahim

In Malaysia on September 8, 2008 at 9:07 am

Reading the MalaysiaKini site, I notice this: “Is Anwar Unstoppable‘ by Raja Petra Kamarudin at Anwar’s site.

Excerpt:

Today, I received many phone calls from concerned friends who told me that the government is considering detaining me under the Internal Security Act ‘very soon’. If that does happen, then this could probably be the last article I write, at least until 16 September 2008. So I too need Anwar to succeed. If not I will be in Kamunting for quite some time to come and you will not hear from me over the next couple of years.

But if I am wrong…..well, then see you maybe in six or seven years time, because for sure Najib Tun Razak will not release me in 2010 when he becomes Prime Minister. What he would do, instead, would be to rollover my two-year detention another two years, and another two years, and another two years, until I am too old to think and write anymore.

Till we meet again, if we do meet again, take care and keep the flame burning. There is still a long fight ahead of us in bringing reforms to this beloved country of ours.

  1. You probably already know it, but I feel that I “have to make a statement” about it; to stand up and be counted.

    Had received this SMS alert from The Star at 2:04 PM: Raja Petra Kamarudin (RPK) of Malaysia Today fame has finally been arrested. This news wasn’t too surprising because there were already rumours about it the past week.

    And three papers were given warnings by the Home Ministry – Sin Chiew, The Sun and Suara Keadilan. I presume it was due to events surrounding the recent Ahmad Ismail controversy. I might comment on this one later, for I feel it is to be differentiated from RPK.

    But it is about RPK and Malaysia Today that I wish to say something about here. I must say that I don’t believe some of the things that he has claimed; and neither do I agree with the manner in which he goes about things.

    However, I disagree with attempts to muzzle him; like the recent blocking of Malaysia Today by MCMC. And I am certainly against this latest action against him – of taking him out of circulation by detaining him under the ISA.

    We will be hearing a lot about this in the papers, and especially the blogs. I am just a small, insignificant and anonymous guy. But I have a heart and a voice too, and they say: In the name of justice and fair play, FREE RPK!”

    I’ll be coming here more often. And I might start a new blog, specifically to express that side of me – of my socio-political views, which I “do not want to contaminate” my Recovery from Drug Addiction site with. I’ll probably start it at Blogspot later – maybe http://cendana287.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

