Mike's >>>

“A matter of choice” / Updates / ‘kickdefella’ support

In Blogging, History on September 18, 2008 at 5:20 pm

A fellow blogger has commented that he just started a new one called Cendana Blues~Addicted to Politics. His other blog is: Recovery From Drug Addiction (in Malaysia).

As he made some comments here, I decided to reciprocate.

Here’s my post:

≈≈≈≈≈

Hi Mat,

Saw your comments at my blog. Thought I’d put in a word or two.

In particular, you mentioned:

“Since politics is generally a dirty business, I’m gonna get dirty and be dirty too.”

Well, it doesn’t have to be dirty.

Those who stoop so low will always be caught – in Malaysia or elsewhere. Some may take longer – like Stalin, some quicker – like Bush. No one is an island.

Our leaders tend to be short-sighted, like Magoo, they aim only so high and – afraid of falling – defend that little height endlessly against all, even those whose backs they used to get there.

And some leaders tend to forget – we put them there to climb higher, not tell us that’s the furthest they, or we, can go.

Mandela said it best:

“But I have discovered the secret that after climbing a great hill one only finds that there are many more hills to climb.”

So, as our leaders climb, we shouldn’t throw mud – we should scrutinise them fairly, but vigourously. And if they fail, they will get more than mud. They will have to come back down to earth, where we common folk live.

Dirt, like mud, is not for me – because I’m smirched too and just as dirty.

Fairly or dirtily is a matter of choice – I have chosen mine. Keep well.

Regards
Mike
≈≈≈

UPDATE:

  • If you read my post yesterday, ‘Malaysia-in-progress: Another blogger arrested‘, here’s something you can do to support him. The blogger, Syed Azidi Syed Aziz, was arrested yesterday, 17th Sep 2008 under ISA. From rocky’s bru (see link above):

8.30 pm tonight 18/9, Bukit Aman commercial crime hq. You don’t have to light a candle if you don’t believe in the gesture, but be there nonetheless to show support for Sheih.

  • There’s an on-going update by The Star on a few things – UMNO power transfer meeting, Anwar’s conference, etc.
  1. hi mike. nice to read blogs from someone who’s got no hangups about saying things upfront. like your analyses. will enjoy reading you tremendously.
    meanwhile do drop in for a visit to my blog. sakmongkol.blogspot.com

  2. I’m not going to say that your blog is a “breath of fresh air”, because you don’t strike me as a person who’s blogging to get those kinds of comments. I’ve been reading your blog on and off, and sometimes I agree, sometimes I don’t. But I think you get your points through very clearly, and I’m really learning a lot.

    I particularly think your points here are valid. Politics, as my dad puts it, is dirty, no matter how you slice it. But that being said, we don’t have to be ‘dirty’ too. Perhaps sometimes it’s just a little difficult to ‘pull myself out of the mud’ and see the whole picture without the tinted glasses, but in a way, we do what we think is best.

    For me, it’s all about check and balance.

  3. Hi Su,
    You’re right about the ‘fresh air’ bit. I noticed from your blog you are at university and so I am glad I can contribute.

    However, a lot of what’s in my posts would not pass muster in an academic envrionment, or be so vaguely put in a learned discussion. Be careful what you learn here – I’m neither a lecturer nor advocate anymore, just a blogger.

    ‘Checks and balances’ alas, is something that works only from 30,000 feet – something that works from a distance, with lots of assumptions, and “tinted glass”. If you ask me, check and balance is purely a theorethical framework, easily undermined by humans, leaving many individuals in society – ours and elsewhere – worse off because everyone assumes we have ‘checks and balances’ in our government.

    If you are interested, check out the work of Gareth Peirce and Michael Mansfield. They, the Brits, had check and balance, but it resulted in so many wrongful conviction, with much injustice.

    ISA is not our real enemy. Assumptions that our other laws are justified and applied fairly is the real issue in our country today. And I generally try not to advocate law reform via blogs, it doesn’t get very far. In fact, I have never seen it work, here or anywhere else.

Leave a Reply

