Mike's >>>

Want to give it a rest? It’s Friday.

In Malaysia on September 19, 2008 at 7:05 pm

According to my latest straw poll (of one, me), I think Malaysians are becoming like citizens of the largest democracy in the world, India. They love their politics, and that’s their choice. But do we have to as well? This incessant politicking is driving me crazy. It’s Friday already everyone. Give it a break. Start again on Monday maybe?

I’m writing this with a mantra buzzing between my ears: I’m an intelligent person, and I have a life, I’m an intelligent person, and I have a life, I’m an intelligent person, and I have a life, …

In one week, starting 12th Sep, we’ve had the following:

  • Saturday (13th Sep): The shortest ISA detention in our history when journalist of SinChew Daily, Ms Tan, was released after 18 hours
  • Monday (15th Sep): Zaid’s resignation as Minister for Law
  • Wednesday (17th Sep): Another blogger, Syed Azidi Syed Aziz, who writes as “Sheih Kickdefella”, arrested under ISA.
  • Thursday (18th Sep): Our government’s Cabinet finally realising that we are all Malaysians, regardless of colour, when they approved the Race Relations Bill (hello Star, it’s not an Act of Parliament yet)
  • Friday (19th Sep) @1.30pm : the release of our lawmaker, Ms Teressa Kok, from ISA
  • … now we we have this: “Police report lodged against Anwar for causing unease“, reported by The Sun, at 5.22pm, on a Friday.

Why?

Sure, everyone is entitled to complain to law enforcement. By law, the cops must investigate. But there’s something so sinister, and absurd, that I must say:

Stop abusing the process.

Stop abusing the police.

Stop abusing the investigative system.

Stop abusing the legal system.

STOP ABUSING THE PUBLIC TRUST OF OUR GOVERNMENT.

What’s the point of all these politicking and use of law enforcement, our civil servants, as pawns?


Grow up! It’s Friday! Get a life!!!

Leave a Reply

